New Crochet Kick of Mine

Lately, I’ve had to be more creative in my spending habits, particularly when it comes to the holidays.  The problem with me is that I love being on both ends of gift-giving: I love watching the recipients’ faces as they open gifts, but at the same time, if I’ve given a gift to someone, I hope I’ll receive one back from them in return.  So, my newest solution is buy raw material and use what little crafting skills I have to invest more time rather than money into the gift.  Therefore, the thought is present, but exorbitant amounts of money are not being spent.

While being in the process of giving proper credit to the designer of the following pattern, I realized that I was crediting a fellow WordPress user.  I am attaching the following link and thanking her profusely for her pattern because I am using it over and over again to create handmade gifts for the season, albeit on the late end.

http://hookersdontbite.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/free-pattern-woven-bobble-fingerless-gloves/

Image

Picture came from the blog

The great thing about this pattern is that it is so quick to work up and that it gives a little twist to the glove and is not just boring stitches the whole time.  What I also adore is that I feel the pattern could be used for both men and women, although the men are free to disagree.  Another upside is that I was able to learn a new stitch by doing this glove: the bobble stitch! The downside is that, like most crochet, the glove is more airy than I intended and therefore is not so warm.

I’d love to hear your opinions.  Are there any patterns you use over and over again?  I’d love to see them! How does one create a warm garment in crochet? Any advice on how to effectively learn new stitches?

Leave a Reply

